Skip to content
October 5, 2011 / Mika Riedel

We played catch.

Monday September 5th, 2011.

ー Report from Shigeki ー

I talked with an elementary school girl during the activity today. She has lost her little sister in the disaster. I have heard of that from someone, but not directly from her. I have met her and talked to her several times in the activities, but I’ve been trying not to talk about her little sister.

Today, I played catch with her, and after that we had a bit of a break and talked. She told me she found my article in a book.

Our activity “Rainbow Crayons” has been showcased in the published book by the name “From here, Again. -50 days of the people in Ishinomaki : 2011 Tohoku earthquake and tsunami-“. The article tells what happened that day, and it covered “Reason to Live” which is also on this website. She probably read the article.

I wrote down my sadness, agony, pleasure and other feelings in the article. I don’t know which part of it she meant, but she just said, “I know how you felt”. And then we started playing catch again.

I can’t exactly tell how I felt, but I found myself close to tears while playing catch. There are a lot of people around me, so I couldn’t cry because it would have been embarrassing, but I was actually crying inside. I covered it up by playing catch. I threw a ball really high, used my body a lot. I couldn’t really tell if I was sad or delighted.

I came back from the activity and took a look back at what she said, and I realized that I have been healed by the children as I expected, I have been thriving with the children’s help as I expected.

Written by Kodomo Hinanjo Club on 9/5/2011.

Translated by Mika Riedel and Paul Haugerud.

Leave a Reply

