Skip to content
November 10, 2011 / Mika Riedel

Letting Loose!

Wednesday, October 12th, 2011

Today we visited the provisional housing in the residential district of Koyocho.

ーOnchan-Shisho’s reportー

Okachan and I walked with the children to a small park in the neighborhood.

111012_164801

While we were playing, other children living in the neighborhood began showing up.  Watching the local kids join in with ours, I was reminded that children really don’t put up social barriers.

I knew from my previous visits I really wanted to take these children outside.  They have a lot of pent up energy and can get rambunctious even in the assembly room.

Sure enough, today when we took them out, they really let loose.  For the first time in quite a while I was covered in sweat, boy was it a lot of fun.

Once again, I was grateful to befriend them.  The plant cuttings in this photograph were from the children, on a whim I tried putting them in a vase for decoration. They smell really nice.

111012_180101

Written by Nijiiro-Kureyon on 10/12/2011.

Translated by Paul Haugerud and Kayoko Hirata.

Leave a Reply

