Skip to content
May 12, 2013 / Mika Riedel

Mako-chan’s First Visit, and First Report!

January 8th, 2013

Today I went to the Hibiki housing complex.

Nervous and excited about volunteering with Nijiiro Crayons for the first time, I entered the complex and immediately heard the busy sounds and voices of some of the children I was here to visit.  They sure were an energetic bunch.

With no time to spare, we started playing hide-and-seek and games of tag right after finishing our self introductions. The kids were really fast, so I had a pretty hard time catching them…

Afterward, I went to the lounge to find Soushi-kun and Pon-chan enjoying crafting things with clay.  They couldn’t stop laughing as they made things and quickly smashed them to bits once finished.

Next to them, I saw Onchan-shisho (Shigeki) and S-chan playing a pretty competitive-looking game of cards.  They were having such an interesting game that I didn’t want to stop watching them.  Finally, I tried playing against S-chan, but quickly lost due to S-chan’s card-playing prowess.

After getting tired of playing with clay, Soushi-kun and Pon-chan decided to read a picture book together. Unexpectedly, roles were reversed as Soushi-kun did most of the reading while Pon-chan listened intently.

This was my first time to volunteer with Nijiiro Crayon. It was a busy visit, but somehow, at the end of the day, I felt more energetic than I did before doing all the activities! Thank you for the fun time!

This is the end of my report. Today’s volunteers were: Pon-chan, Buu-chan, On-chan, and Mako-chan.

Written by Nijiiro Crayons on 1/8/2013.

Translated by Meredith Smith and Paul Haugerud.

Leave a Reply

