Skip to content
June 1, 2015 / Mika Riedel

Every child is an artist!

Hi everyone, this is Pi-cokku! Today was our activity day at the provisional housing at Hibiki Industrial park.

I was a little late for today’s activity because there were road works on the motorway I usually take but I was very happy when I arrived and all of the smiling children gathered around and asked me, “What are we going to do today?!”

We started doing this art activity in April, with the theme changing every month. Now it’s May and the theme is drawing and painting, so we prepared all the things we’d need for this activity. The children were very curious about the new equipment and enjoyed painting with new colours.
Tane-san, who will be staying here until the end of May as a volunteer, joined this activity today. The children also had a good time with him, playing cards and football.

DSC_0705

Some children were afraid of painting because they thought they couldn’t paint well, but they eventually joined in, encouraged by seeing the other children painting. Once they started, it seems they really enjoy drawing and painting flowers or characters.

They reminded me of when I was a child. I was like them too. I felt that I had to draw well and I was too concerned with doing it perfectly. Many children are actually afraid of doing it badly and can’t express themselves freely.

DSC_0715

I hope that through this activity, they can gain enough confidence to express what they truly feel because there is no such a thing as, ‘you’re good or bad at art’. Sometimes we are judged by someone else who decides which art is good and bad, but children shouldn’t worry about this.

Some children seemed to get distracted a little, since they haven’t seen each other for a while. But in the end, they looked satisfied from lots of playing. They said, “Thank you! See you later!” and went home.

After the long break, some children were stressed or had lost their close friendships with other children. Even if they feel like this, they will keep coming back and joining our activity if they can fully enjoy it. I’ll do my best to make this happen.

Today’s volunteers were Nattsu, Pi-cokku and Tane-san! Thank you everyone!

Written by Nijiiro Crayons on 5/12/2015.

Translated by Mika Riedel and Matthew Jellicoe.

Leave a Reply

